Skip to content

GSoC ends… but my work will continue

August 18, 2012

Today is almost the last day before the Google Summer of Code hard “pencils down” date (August 20). It was a really great experience to work with the great buddycloud team on creating an HTTP API for them this summer, and I learned a lot about XMPP, HTTP, node.js and several other things in the process. I especially would like to thank my mentor Simon Tennant, who helped me a lot to get started and was always there when I needed him. Thank you!

So I guess now is the right time to look back and see what I have accomplished in the last 13 weeks. Thankfully, I managed to implement most of the things I wanted to. buddycloud now has an HTTP API that lets its users receive channel feeds, post to a channel, find out who is subscribed to a channel, receive channel metadata, et cetera. Rodrigo Duarte, who was working on a buddycloud media server at the same time, and I even found the time to integrate our servers so that HTTP API clients have access to media without needing an XMPP connection – something that neither of us has planned for before the program started. In short, I think I can be happy with what I have done.

However, there is one feature that didn’t make it – listening for new channel posts in real time. As I have mentioned in my last post, this depends on some functionality in the buddycloud server that is not fully implemented yet. Unfortunately I didn’t find the time to continue working on this as I was on a two-week vacation to the US for the last two weeks, but I hope I can finally get around to finish this up soon after GSoC.

In general, I do not plan to move away from my project once Summer of Code has ended. The buddycloud team is awesome to work with, and the last thing that I want is my code to bitrot and vanish into uselessness. I will continue to maintain and extend the code as long as possible and might help out the buddycloud project in other areas in the future.

Before I end this post, I want to say THANK YOU to the XMPP Foundation for choosing and supporting me for this Summer of Code (especially for sending us copies of XMPP: The Definitive Guide and Getting Things Done – they helped me a lot!), and to Google, without whose sponsoring all of this wouldn’t be possible. You rock!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

